Bravo Macao! II

Local Musicians Concert Series

1/10|Sunday|20:00     Dom Pedro V Theatre     Tickets: MOP 150, 120

To promote local classical music development and celebrate Macao’s rising music stars, this year’s Festival brings you again Bravo Macao! concert series. Harpist Leong Cheok Wun and cellist Ho Chun will share the stage to showcase the unique charms of the strings!

Leong Cheok Wun studied guzheng with Zhou Qian and harp with Li Liqun at an early age at the School of Music of the Macao Conservatory. She then continued her studies with Professor Wei Linlin at the Central Conservatory of Music. After acquiring her undergraduate degree in 2014, Leong furthered her studies at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music with Professor Gillian Benet Sella. She has received numerous awards and scholarships, and was under the Subsidy Programme for Cultural and Arts Studies of the Cultural Affairs Bureau. Leong is currently a harpist at the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra and a harp teacher at the Macao Conservatory.

Born in Macao in 1994, Ho Chun began studying piano and cello with Lei Chin Leong and Zhou You at an early age. He is pursuing his postgraduate studies at the Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz, Austria, with cellist and educator Professor Florian Kitt. Ho has won numerous awards at the Macao Young Musicians Competition, the National Aegean Cello Competition, and many others. He is an active member of the Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Orchestra, and has toured with the Macao Orchestra and the Macao Chinese Orchestra in Portugal and other countries in Europe as a guest musician.

Leong Cheok Wun, Harp
Ho Chun, Cello
Piano Accompaniment: Yang Xiaofan

Leong Cheok Wun
J. S. Bach: Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV. 565
M. Ravel: Introduction and Allegro, M. 46
T. Takemitsu: Stanza II for Solo Harp and Tape
P. Glass: “Opening” from Glassworks

Ho Chun
R. Schumann:  Fantasiestücke, op. 73
A. Dvořák: “Silent Woods” for Cello and Piano, from From the Bohemian Forest, B. 173, op. 68, no. 5
S. Prokofiev: Cello Sonata in C Major, op. 119

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one interval