Fauré Quartett (Germany)[Sold Out!]

3/11 (Thursday);8pm     Macao Cultural Centre Small Auditorium     Tickets: MOP 250, 200

Erika Geldsetzer, Violin
Sascha Frömbling, Viola
Konstantin Heidrich, Cello
Dirk Mommertz, Piano

G. Mahler: Quartettsatz in A minor
J. Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, op. 60
G. Fauré: Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor, op. 15

The Fauré Quartett was founded in 1995, choosing Gabriel Fauré as its namesake in honour of the French composer’s much–cherished works for piano quartet. It wasn’t long before this ensemble joined the ranks of prize-winners and award recipients, earning the Deutscher Schallplattenpreis, the ECHO Klassik Award, the Preis des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs and Great Britain’s Parkhouse Award.

Ten years later, the Fauré Quartett had already climbed to the top of its field as the only German chamber ensemble of its kind. This led to a contract with Deutsche Grammophon and a 2006 recording of the Mozart Piano Quartets, followed by an ECHO Klassik-winning Brahms CD in 2008. The group has performed on the most important international stages and is also a regular guest at renowned festivals worldwide. The Fauré Quartett is currently “Quartet in Residence” at the prestigious Karlsruhe Music Lyceum and is the first piano quartet to have received this honour.

“Anyone who heard the Fauré Quartett perform will want to hear it again.”
Martha Argerich (renowned concert pianist)

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes, including one interval