The Macao Orchestra Romantic Evening

17/5 (Sunday)
8pm     Dom Pedro V Theatre     Tickets: MOP 30

Franz von Suppé: Leichte Kavallerie Overture
Johann Strauss II: Rosen aus dem Süden, op. 388
Antonin Dvořák: String Quintet in E-flat major, op. 97 “American”/ Wind Serenade in D minor, op. 44

The Macao Orchestra continues its Chamber Music Series in a concert dedicated to the Romantic repertoire. The Light Cavalry Overture, one of Franz von Suppé’s most famous pieces, opens the concert and is followed by the ‘Waltz King’s’ Roses from the South, a medley of waltzes composed by Johann Strauss II in 1880 which ranks among the composer’s most magnificent works. In sharp contrast, the Czech composer Dvořák found inspiration for one of his most enduring masterworks, his String Quintet, op. 97, in the United States, since, at the time of its composition, he was director of the American National Conservatory. He incorporates pentatonic melodies and evocations of drumming from African-American music and the music of the native Iroquois from Iowa into this lovely, tuneful work. The concert ends with Dvořák’s Wind Serenade, op. 44, a piece with fine artistic expression, compelling melodies and touching harmonic progressions.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes, no interval