Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet (Germany)

Tuesday, October 7, 2008 20:00     Dom Pedro V Theatre     200

Michael Hasel, Flute
Andreas Wittman, Oboe
Walter Seyfarth, Clarinet
Fergus McWilliam, French Horn
Henning Trog, Bassoon

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)/ Arr: Michael Hasel: Andante for Clockwork Organ in F major, K 616
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)/ Arr: Michael Hasel: Sextet in E-flat major, op. 71
Paul Hindemith (1895-1963): Kleine Kammermusik für Bläser, op. 24/2
Jacques Ibert (1890-1962): Trois pièces brèves
Carl Nielsen (1865-1931): Quintet, op. 43 (1922)

The Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet (Philharmonishes Bläserquintett Berlin) was founded in 1988 during the era of Herbert von Karajan and is the first permanently established wind quintet in the famous orchestra’s rich tradition of chamber music. The musicians in the Quintet are all original members and are therefore living witnesses to the Berlin Philharmonic's hugely productive and influential musical partnerships – with Karajan and with the orchestra's two most recent musical directors: Claudio Abbado and Sir Simon Rattle. The Quintet continues to astonish audiences worldwide with its range of expression, tonal spectrum and conceptual unity, succeeding in virtually the entire range of the wind quintet literature.

“Arguably the best ensemble of its kind in the world… exemplary music-making… impeccable precision… extraordinary unity… uncanny one-ness.”
Manchester Evening News

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 50 minutes, including one interval