The Macao Orchestra Invites Maria João Pires (Portugal)

Wednesday, October 31, 2007 20:00     Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium     400

Conductor: En Shao
Maria João Pires, Piano

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791):
Overture to the opera Die Zauberflöte, K 620
Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat Major, K 271 “Jeunehomme”

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827):
Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, op. 58

The Cultural Institute was born, and Maria João Pires was one the first artists to earn public applause for the Government's cultural action. This was 25 years ago in an unforgettable recital at the Sir Robert Ho Tung Library. The hall on the top floor was packed, and the Portuguese pianist played, surrounded by fans, some of whom could only listen from the stairs of the old building.

Maria João Pires now assumes a place of honour on the calendar of the 21st Macao International Music Festival. With the prestigious Eduardo Lourenço Prize still warm in her hands and an important nomination for the Prince of Asturias Prize, the musician brings the most important cultural event of the region to a close. In the company of the Macao Orchestra, she will pay a visit to composers that made her famous, Mozart and Beethoven.

Duration: approximately 2 hours, including one interval