17th Macao Arts Festival
Romantic Classics Series – Concert 4
“Magical Brahms”

Thursday, March 16, 2006 20:00     St. Dominic's Church    

Johannes Brahms “Academic Festival” Overture, op. 80
Robert Schumann Cello Concerto in A minor, op. 129
Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 73

Firmly established as one of the greatest Chinese conductors of his generation, Lü Shao Chia took his current position as Music Director of the Hannover Opera in 2001, and within a single season was elected “Best Conductor of the Year” Opera World. Markus Nyikos was a former Principal Cellist of the Berlin Philharmonic Virtuosi and is a regular guest musician with numerous symphony orchestras all over the world. His performance style has been hailed by the Daily Mirror London as “incredibly neat and sprightly”. Without a doubt, Markus Nyikos and Lü Shao Chia will bring us a passionate interpretation of three of the masterpieces of the Romantic repertoire.

Cello: Markus Nyikos
Conductor: Lü Shao Chia

Duration: approximately 75 minutes (without intermission)
Free admission
For information on entry using coupons’ distribution, please refer to the website of the Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao S.A.R. Government, at www.icm.gov.mo or promotional materials of the 17th Macao Arts Festival.

* The organizer reserves the right to alter the programme and performers