The Macao Orchestra

Romantic Classics Series, Concert 4
The Magic of Brahms

Thursday, March 16, 2006     St. Dominic's Church     Admission with free ticket

Lü Shaochia, Guest Conductor
Markus Nyikos, Cello

Johannes Brahms
Academic Festival Overture, op. 80
Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 73

Robert Schumann
Cello Concerto in A minor, op. 129

Leaving behind the dark forest that was his first symphony, German composer Johannes Brahms takes a romantic journey to the sunshine of the Austrian Alps, while Schumann creates new landscapes in sound with a sensitive dialogue for cello and orchestra. No stranger to Asian concert halls, renowned cellist Markus Nyikos leads the conversation under the baton of Taiwanese conducting star Shao-Chia Lü.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes, no intermission