From the New World

Friday, April 17, 2015 20:00     Dom Pedro V Theatre     Tickets: MOP 100, 80


Barber: Summer Music for Wind Quintet, Op. 31
Foss: The Cave of the Winds
Dvořák: String Quartet No. 12 in F major, Op.96 “American”

20th century composers made many new attempts in the modes of chamber music. In this concert, the Orchestra presents an American-style evening: Summer Music by famous American composer Samuel Barber, followed by the American, a classical string quartet by Antonín Dvořák. Significantly influenced by American folk music, this work was composed by Dvořák whilst sojourning in America.  

Duration: approximately 1 hour, no interval

Book Now