The Macao Chinese Orchestra

Reminiscence of the Classics

4/5|Sunday|8 pm     Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium     Tickets: MOP 150, 120, 80

Conductor: Pang Ka Pang
Kong Zhaohui, Violin
Liu Yue, Piano
The Macao Chinese Orchestra
Guangdong Chinese Orchestra

Li Binyang: Macao Capriccio
He Zhanhao and Chen Gang: “Butterfly Lovers” Violin Concerto
Xian Xinghai / Arr. Yin Chengzong, Chu Wanghua, Sheng Lihong, Liu Zhuang: “Yellow River” Piano Concerto
Liu Changyuan: “Memories” for Traditional Chinese Orchestra

The Macao Chinese Orchestra, under the baton of its Principal Conductor Pang Ka Pang, and with the cooperation of  pianist  Liu Yue and Singaporean violinist Kong Zhaohui, delivers a performance that fuses East and West, taking listeners into a mesmerising music world.

In Reminiscence of the Classics, they will bring to life among other exciting works two key pieces of the Chinese music repertoire, the ‘Yellow River’ Piano Concerto and the ‘Butterfly Lovers’ Violin Concerto. The former depicts the overpowering rapids of the Yellow River, the cradle of the Chinese civilization, and how the Chinese people laboured, lived and fought on the piece of land by the river. The latter recounts the romantic folk tale of Liang Shanbo and Zhu Yingtai, describing crucial moments of the star-crossed lovers, such as how they met, tied the knot and parted.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one interval