Long Yu and Shanghai Symphony Orchestra (Cancelled)

Grand Auditorium, Macao Cultural Centre
Tickets: MOP 250, 200, 150

“[Long Yu is] the most powerful figure in China’s Western classical music scene.”The New York Times

Chen Qigang: Ouverture symphonique Instants d’un opéra de Pékin
Chen Qigang: Un temps disparu for Erhu and Orchestra
S. Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, op. 43
M. Ravel: Boléro, M. 81

Conductor: Long Yu 
Lu Yiwen, Erhu
Zee Zee, Piano
Shanghai Symphony Orchestra 

The Shanghai Symphony Orchestra is one of the earliest and best-known orchestras in Asia, through which Chinese symphonic music has developed. Spanning three different centuries, the orchestra has embraced a new era under the leadership of music director Maestro Long Yu. It has played a major role in collaborations between world-class musicians and has gained a reputation as the most authoritative interpreter of Chinese symphonic compositions. 

The first half of the concert features two major works by Chen Qigang. Instants d’un opéra de Pékin is a fusion of Peking opera and Western symphonic music, whereas Un temps disparu is inspired by a well-known ancient Chinese melody and features the Chinese erhu. The concert also features Rachmaninoff’s bravura piece Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini and Ravel’s exhilarating Boléro. The Shanghai Symphony Orchestra will join hands with erhu virtuoso Lu Yiwen and Chinese star pianist Zee Zee.

Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes, including one interval

You may also like