Drunken Strings

Chen Xi x Macao Orchestra

20/5 │ Saturday │ 20:00
University Hall, University of Macau
Tickets: MOP 300, 220, 120

“[Chen Xi is] a very bright musician with strong individuality...” The Strad

Tchaikovsky, the great Russian musician of the 19th century, was one of the first professional composers receiving education at a music academy in Russia. He integrated Western European creative techniques into his composition and created many works with unique national characteristics, becoming a truly representative of Russian music.

To commemorate the 130th anniversary of the death of Tchaikovsky, the Macao Orchestra, led by its principal guest conductor and artistic advisor Lio Kuokman, will perform Violin Concerto in D Major, together with Chinese violinist Chen Xi, winner of a silver medal in the violin category of the 2002 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, Russia. In addition, the orchestra will also perform Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 1 in G Minor in tribute to the master!

Conductor: Lio Kuokman
Chen Xi, Violin
Macao Orchestra

P. I. Tchaikovsky:
Violin Concerto in D Major, op. 35
Symphony No. 1 in G Minor, op. 13 (“Winter Daydreams”)

Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes, including one interval

You may also like