Symphony No. 9 “The Great”

BBC Philharmonic (United Kingdom)

Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium

MOP 500, 400, 300, 200, 150

Venue Booklet Book now

Conductor: Juanjo Mena
László Fenyö, Cello


M. Glinka: Overture to Ruslan and Ljudmila
E. Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor, op. 85
F. Schubert: Symphony No. 9 in C major, D. 944 “The Great”

The BBC Philharmonic is acknowledged as one of the UK’s finest orchestras. Part of the BBC’s family of six performing groups, the orchestra performs an annual season of concerts at Manchester’s Bridgewater Hall, and is actively involved in local educational and community programmes. International engagements have seen the BBC Philharmonic appear in Japan, Korea, China, and throughout Europe. To date, the orchestra has made over 200 acclaimed recordings with Chandos Records. Hailing from the Basque region of Spain, Juanjo Meno is Chief Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic. Since taking up the post in 2011, his passionate performances of core classical repertoire and the music of his home country have received rave reviews.

Since winning the “International Pablo Casals Competition” in 2004, cellist László Fenyö is rightfully considered one of the world’s elite cellists. Combining breathtaking technical skills and emotive expressiveness, his performances have captivated audiences around the world. In this concert, the BBC Philharmonic and László Fenyö combine forces in a performance of Elgar’s Cello Concerto , one of the most contemplative and elegiac works in the repertoire. Framed by Glinka’s “Overture” to Ruslan and Ljudmila and the glorious Symphony No. 9 in C major, known as “The Great” by Franz Schubert, this concert promises an unforgettable evening of great classical music!


Duration: approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one interval

Festival Outreach Programme:
Pre-Show Talks