Xian Xinghai and Liu Tianhua Commemorative Concert – 70th Anniversary of the Victory in the Anti-Japanese Resistance War

Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium

MOP 200, 150, 100

Venue Booklet Book now

Conductors: Wang Aikang, Ho Man-Chuen, Huang Kuang-Yu and Pang Ka Pang
Wu Yuxia, Pipa
Chen Jun, Erhu
Niu Niu, Piano
The Macao Chinese Orchestra
Chinese Orchestra of the Jiangsu Performing Arts Group
Taiwan Zhonghua Chinese Orchestra
Hong Kong Windpipe Chinese Music Ensemble


Liu Tianhua/ Arr. Peng Xiuwen: Towards Brightness
Liu Tianhua/ Arr. Li Binyang: Improved Étude for Pipa and Orchestra
Liu Tianhua/ Arr. Yang Qing: Chant of a Leisure Life
Liu Tianhua/ Arr. Wang Fujian: Beautiful Evening
Liu Tianhua/ Arr. Xu Changjun: Amorous Shadows in Candlelight
Liu Tianhua/ Arr. Chen Siang: Soliloquy of a Convalescent for Erhu and Orchestra
Chen Yaoxin/ Arr. Yang Chunlin: Galloping War Horses
Zhao Jiping: Symphony No. 2 “Ode to Peace” - 4th and 5th movements: “The fury of the river” and “Ode to Peace”
Xian Xinghai/ Arr. Yin Chengzong: The Yellow River Piano Concerto


Xian Xinghai, born in Macao in 1905, composed several stirring musical works. One of his most famous pieces, The Yellow River Cantata , upon which The Yellow River Piano Concerto is based, is a paean of praise to the long history of the Chinese nation and the unyielding spirit of the Chinese people during the Anti-Japanese War.

Liu Tianhua, who made a remarkable historical contribution to the inheritance and development of Chinese traditional music in modern history, is regarded as one of the representatives of Chinese traditional music. He advocated the study and reference of Western music to better develop the combination of Chinese and Western music.

Celebrating the 110th anniversary of the birth of Xian Xinghai, and the 120th anniversary of the birth of Liu Tianhua, the Macao Chinese Orchestra and other traditional ensembles from the two sides of the Strait present the Xian Xinghai and Liu Tianhua Commemorative Concert, under the baton of conductors from all four regions. This is a truly valuable opportunity to promote the exchange of music from the four regions, which share a homogeneous culture and the same ancestors, and who present their common affection for the Chinese nation.


Duration: approximately 2 hours, including one interval