2019-2020 Season Opening Concert ‘Festival’

Sunday, September 1, 2019 20:00     Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium     Tickets: MOP 200, 160, 140, 120

The Macao Chinese Orchestra’s 2019-2020 Season Opening Concert will be on the ‘Festival’ theme by the Music Director and Principal Conductor Liu Sha, and open with the percussion classic ‘Flying Dragons and Jumping Tigers’ led by the Head of the Guangdong National Orchestra of China, Chen Zuohui, who was dubbed ‘the king of the drums’. For this concert, the Macao Chinese Orchestra has invited the currently most sought-after pianist, Yuan Fang, to stage the piano concerto ‘Yellow River’. Among the repertoire, maestro Kuan Nai-chung’s ‘Journey to Lhasa’ and commissioned work 'Macao Impressions' by Zhao Jiping are definitely the classic in modern times. This is a concert that music fans should not miss!

Concert Details
Date: 1 September 2019 (Sunday)
Time: 20:00
Venue: Macao Cultural Centre – Grand Auditorium
Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one intermission
Tickets: MOP 200 / 160 /  140 / 120
Conductor: Liu Sha

Outreach Programme
(1)  Piano masterclass by Yuan Fang
Date: 30 August 2019 (Friday)
Time: 18:30 - 20:00
Venue: Macao Conservatory School of Music Room 208

(2) Percussion masterclass by Chen Zuohui
Date: 31 August 2019 (Saturday)
Time: 15:00 - 16:30
Venue: Macao Conservatory School of Music Room 208

(3) Autograph session
Date: 1 September 2019 (Sunday)
Venue: Macao Cultural Centre Lobby

Download House Programme