The 32nd Macao International Music Festival
“Nostalgic Lane”

Friday, October 19, 2018 20:00     Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium     Tickets: MOP 200, 150, 100

Conductor: Liu Sha


Suona and erguxian: Guo Yazhi


Banhu: Li Feng

This concert is a joint effort between Music Director and Principal Conductor Liu Sha and Chinese suona legend Guo Yazhi, who has been away from Macao for years and is acclaimed as “the best suona player”. The latter will present his works namely concerto for suona All About Hometown and Guo Yazhi and World Music at the 32nd Macao International Music Festival, taking audience on a music journey to appreciate suona and Chinese music from a whole new perspective. The concert will also feature the world premiere Ge Liang Liang, a Chinese orchestra suite depicting the charms of Shanxi composed by famous composer Wang Danhong, giving music fans a different impression of Shanxi.

Programme Highlights



Composition / Arrangement

Chinese Orchestral Music Nostalgia


Composition / Arrangement

Suona, Jinhu, Erguxian and Orchestra
All About Hometown
(Macao Premiere)

Suona and erguxian: Guo Yazhi
Jinhu: Bai Zhaoyan

Comp. / Arr.: Du
Zhiming, Zhang
Yibing and Guo Yazhi

Winds and Orchestra
Guo Yazhi and World Music
(Macao Premiere)

Winds: Guo Yazhi

Comp. / Arr.: Utar Artun and Guo Yazhi

Banhu Concerto
(Macao Premiere)

Banhu: Li Feng

Comp.: Wang  Danhong

Chinese Orchestral Suite
Ge Liang Liang
(World Premiere)

First Movement
The Sound of Yellow River from Heaven
Second Movement
Little Horse
Third Movement
Lovesick Embroidery
Fourth Movement

Jin Style


Comp.: Wang Danhong

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes, including one intermission.