Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra (Canada)
The Four Seasons: A Cycle of the Sun

Saturday, October 20, 2007 20:00     Dom Pedro V Theatre     200

Music Director: Jeanne Lamon
Patricia Ahern, Julia Wedman, Christopher Verrette and Jeanne Lamon, Violins
Lucas Harris, Lute
Special guests:
Wen Zhao, Pipa
Aruna Narayan, Sarangi
Aqsarniit, Vocals

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741): Concerto in E Major, op. 8, No. 1 “La primavera”
Giovanni Zamboni: Fuga, from Sonate d’intavolatura di leuto, 1718
Anonymous: White Snow in Spring

Monsoon Raag
Ciaconna (improvised)
A. Vivaldi: Concerto in G minor, op. 8, No. 2 “L’estate”

A. Vivaldi: Concerto in F Major, op. 8, No. 3 “L’autumno”

Singing by members of Aqsarniit
Mychael Danna (b.1958): L’Inverno, after Vivaldi

One of the world's famous Baroque orchestras, Tafelmusik gives new life to Antonio Vivaldi's Four Seasons in a cycle that closes in the bleak of winter, yet renews itself on a voyage through the music of the world. Invited to the stage are guests from various traditions, such as the voices of Native Canadian group Aqsarniit and pipa soloist Wen Zhao, who paints a springtime reminiscence. The journey continues with more friends taking the stage, and culminates in a collective celebration of Vivaldi's "Winter" with a transcendent new composition by Mychael Danna.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes, including one interval