Beijing New Music Ensemble
Sounds in Migration

Sunday, October 21, 2007 20:00     Dom Pedro V Theatre     150

Composer and Conductor: Eli Marshall
Nikola Atanasov, Flute
Keith Lipson, Clarinet
Gao Can, Violin
Zhao Xuyang, Cello
Michelle Yip, Piano

Bright Sheng (b. 1955): Four Movements for violin, cello and piano
Boris Blacher (1903-1975): Variations on a Theme of Tchaikovsky for cello and piano
Eli Marshall (b. 1977): Opus Prime for violin, cello and piano
Jia Guoping (b. 1963): Floating over Boundless Field for flute and piano
Theodorico Pedrini (1671-1746): Trio for flute, violin and continuo
Chou Wen-chung (b. 1923): Windswept Peaks for clarinet, violin, cello and piano
Béla Bartók (1881-1945): Selos – Fast Dance from Contrasts for clarinet, violin and piano

The uniting force is China on the programme of this ensemble, the only independent group dedicated to contemporary Chinese music. Boris Blacher is the first of the Western composers to prove his relationship to the Middle Empire. Eli Marshall maintains this tone in the present, offering yet again a new work to Macao. Theodorico Pedrini emerges from among the Chinese to give an Eastern touch of the Baroque to the concert, and Béla Bartók bids farewell with Contrasts, an apt choice from the only foreigner without a link to China. None of this music is heard in Macao before Bright Sheng breathes the pure air of Tibet in his Four Movements.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one interval