The Guia Fortress

Situated on the peak of Guia Hill – the highest point of Macao Peninsular, Guia Fortress affords sweeping views of the entire Macao Peninsula. With a trapezoidal plan occupying an area of around 800 square metres, Guia Fortress rises about 6 metres high with its façade primarily constructed with granite. The parapet is not equipped with battlements. The courtyard wall where cannons were installed, is relatively low.

Guia Fortress was built in 1622 and underwent expansion works from 1637 to 1638 .It comprises a barracks, a powder magazine and a tower. Since then, the fortress was classified as a restricted military area, where outsiders were not allowed without prior authorisation and public admission was only permitted on the 5th of August (Feast of Our Lady of the Snows) and on the 9th day of the 9th month of the lunar calendar (Double Ninth Festival), until 1976 when the Portuguese army retreated from Macao. Since then, it has been kept as it was. 

There are a lighthouse and a chapel within the fortress. Constructed in 1864, Guia Lighthouse became operational on the 24th of September of the following year. It was the earliest modern lighthouse in the Far East and on the Chinese seacoast. The geographic location of Macao on the world map is taken from this lighthouse. The architecture of the lighthouse is of a column structure, with its base diameter measuring 7 metres and reducing to 5 metres at the top, having a total height of 15 metres. The interior of the lighthouse boasts three levels, connected by a spiral staircase that leads to a large light on top of the building. The lighthouse was damaged by a typhoon in September 1874. Its service resumed on the 29th of June 1910, after the conclusion of the repair works. 

The chapel next to the lighthouse has been known as Guia Chapel. The nave of the chapel, measuring 16 metres per 4.7 metres, is rectangular, with thick load bearing walls supporting the interior vaulting. The gable roof is covered with traditional reddish ceramic tiles and it is composed of a roof ridge and cornice measuring 7 metres and 4.8 metres, respectively. On the right hand side of the main altar is the sacristy, while a very narrow choir is located over the entrance. The design of its façade is simple. It comprises two pilasters in addition to a triangular pediment. The main entrance of the chapel likewise features a pediment. Colourful frescos were painted on the vaulting and the walls inside the chapel. Its painting techniques integrate both Chinese and Western art, emphasizing the value of the chapel.

In order to consolidate the management of the Guia Fortress, to leverage a collaborative development between World Heritage and the tourism enterprise, and to provide a welcoming environment for visitors, the Cultural Affairs Bureau has revamped the initial Guia Lighthouse Visitor Centre into an Information Centre and exhibition venue. The Guia Fortress Information Centre has been put into service in June 2015. It is a rectangular structure measuring 16.5 m by 4.4 m located on the platform below Guia Lighthouse, with an area of 72 square metres. In addition to providing visitors with information, it also features an area that introduces the paintings inside the the Chapel of Our Lady of Guia and the Guia Fortress.

Address: Guia Hill
Opening hours:
Guia Fortress and Information Centre: 9:00am-6:00pm (No admission after 5:30pm)

Guia Chapel: 10:00am-5:00pm

For enquiries:
Please call (853) 8399 6699 during office hours
Email:WebMaster.MH@icm.gov.mo

Free Admission

東望洋炮台

東望洋炮台位於澳門半島最高峰東望洋山之巔,俯瞰整個半島,建築佔地約800平方米,炮台平面為不規則多邊形,牆高約6米,立面由花崗石築建而成,女兒牆不作雉堞式設計,在架設大炮的地方,子牆稍為降低。東望洋炮台修築於1622 年, 1637 年擴大增修,翌年完工,有哨房、火藥庫、樓塔等。此後,炮台一直被列為軍事禁區,非經批准,外人不得擅進,只有每年的8月5日聖母誕及農曆九月初九重陽節才開放予公眾參觀。1976年,葡國軍隊撤出澳門,炮台才被闢為旅遊點,至今仍完整地保持原貌。

炮台上建有一座燈塔及小教堂。東望洋燈塔建成於1864年,次年9月24日正式啟用。為中國海岸第一座現代燈塔,其所在地面位置之座標值亦為澳門於世界地圖上之地理定位,建築為一圓柱形結構,底部直徑為7米往上收分為5 米,總高15 米,內部共分三層,有一迴旋梯連接垂直空間,塔頂設置巨型射燈。1874 年9 月,燈塔因風暴受損,經過重修後於1910 年6 月29 日重新啟用,一直至今。

燈塔側的小教堂名為聖母雪地殿。主堂呈長方形,其長為16 米,寬4.7 米,兩側牆身較為厚大且有扶壁,以承托筒拱結構的屋頂,但屋頂外形則為坡屋頂,以紅瓦鋪設,屋脊高7米多,檐口高4.8米,主祭壇右側設有一祭衣房,唱詩台則在門口上層,極為狹窄。教堂立面設計較為簡單,兩邊壁柱加上三角形山花,而入口大門亦以相同手法設計。教堂內的拱頂和牆身繪有彩色壁畫,其繪畫技巧融合中西藝術,彰顯教堂之價值。

為整合“東望洋炮台”管理工作,更好推動世遺和旅遊事業共同發展,為訪客提供舒適的參觀環境,文化局將原旅遊局“松山燈塔旅客詢問處”改造成諮詢及展覽空間,東望洋炮台詢問處已於2015年6月份投入使用。詢問處位於東望洋燈塔下方的平台,面積約72平方米,呈長方形,長約16.5米,寬約4.4米。詢問處除為訪客提供旅遊諮詢服務外,還設有聖母雪地殿壁畫介紹區及東望洋炮台介紹區。

地址:東望洋山

開放時間:
東望洋炮台及詢問處:9:00-18:00(17:30後停止入場)
聖母雪地殿:10:00-17:00

查詢方法:
辦公時間請致電:(853)8399 6699
電郵:WebMaster.MH@icm.gov.mo

票價:免費